shegenThe Schengen agreement was signed in 1985 and came into force in1995. Since then, it has been signed by 26 European countries, among those Spain. This agreement signed in Luxemburg established the elimination of border controls allowing millions of people to freely travel among the member countries.

Citizens of Andorra, Argentina, Mexico, Brazil, Chile, Australia, Canada, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand and the United States are permitted to enter Schengen territory without a visa as there are agreements established with those countres allowing freedom of movement up to a maximum of six months from the date of arrival.

This agreement also has as an objective to re-enforce the exterior borders in judicial and police cooperation, in an integral constitutional and juridical framework of the European Union.

Schengen student visa for stays no longer than 90 days

The citizens of a country that has signed the agreement to travel to another country ratified as inclusive of the Schengen agreement, will not need a visa and may travel with only a national identity document.

And for those foreign students who are non-residents and do not belong to any country in the agreement, a passport and a Schengen visa valid for all countries will be necessary. This communal visa will save procedures at the time of applying for access to each country (see the article: “Visa requirements to do a Spanish course in Spain”).

Entrance requires a declaration by the competent authorities, having duly been completed within three working days upon arrival.

Come to Seville and get to know us, our school of Spanish in Spain forms part of a network of accredited centres of the Cervantes Institute of Spain which guarantees you the academic quality of our Spanish courses in Spain.

Leave a Reply